A Butch At A Bar

Posted: July 23, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

My girlfriend and I were sitting at the bar inside the infamous Cubbyhole one beautiful summer afternoon.  As I’m ordering another round of drinks from the bartender, a girl that resembled a young K.D. Lang in a NYU t-shirt started hitting on my girlfriend.  I turned to hand over my girlfriend a drink, and gave her new admirer a big smile and said, “Hi, I’m her girlfriend.”

(I never got the girl’s name so I’m going to call her Casey.)

“What????” Casey exclaimed with a totally confused look on her face.

“Umm…yea we’re together,” my girlfriend said.

Casey declared,”That’s sooooo WEIRD!!! I’ve never seen two femmes together!!! You guys are lying!!!!”

My girlfriend and I looked at each other totally astonished.  Out of all places, we’re getting shit at a gay bar!!!!

“What’s so weird about that?”  I asked obviously annoyed.

“It just doesn’t make any sense!” Casey said as she walked away shaking her head.

Wow…so even a lesbian thinks it’s weird for two feminine girls to be together?  Something is wrong with our community, and I will definitely elaborate on that later.

Comments
  1. shima says:

    hahahaha thats weird a lesbian asks such a question =)) omg what she knows about being a lesbian seriously !!!!!! i think femme with femme is so damn hot …. 😀
    btw u mad hilarious ….. keep it up girl 😉

  2. Tallica says:

    Absolutely hysterical!

  3. Alex says:

    Wow, how simple minded is she! I didn’t know it was wrong for two femmes to be together. My girlfriend and I are femmes too and I think we look great!:)

  4. Claudia says:

    See, that’s the thing about the roles. Even if we are out of the “straight world”, it seems like we still have to play those hetero roles. So, if you are “pans”, you’ve got to date a lady… That’s so wierd!
    Isn’t that the first intersting thing about being a lesbian? You don’t have to pretend to be the “woman” in the relationship – meaning that, you’re not the one who is necessarily gonna wash the dishes or cook – and the other can play the “man” role – driving, carrying the heavy stuff.
    Well, so, maybe you should have told that K.d. lang stunt to fuck off (in a nice way, obsviously!)
    By the way, liking your blog 🙂

  5. jo says:

    well, believe it girl. it does happen. it’s sad to think that it does. and in our own community… 😦

  6. Nanjala says:

    hahahaha… its so true. Two femmes are hella sexy though! Them butch girls better watch out! No offense…

  7. D says:

    funny story! That response was odd and I think it was just a case of jealousy makes you nasty….hahaha…let’s all have a laugh.

    elaborate soon.

  8. emmasjohnson says:

    I don’t know why but i assumed if you were a lesbian, you would go for pretty feminine women, makes sense to me that if you are attracted to girls you would want a woman that looks like a woman? love the blog. emma at http://www.emmasian.wordpress.com

  9. Maybe we should re-define what a lesbian is… two women who like women who like to be with each other? Men or manliness is not in the equation. Even the so called “butch” women are still women and should embrace being a lesbian – a woman that loves other women. Yes, it is a big topic and I look forward to more on your blog!

  10. Basil says:

    Firstly love the blog and posts. I stumbled on the blog somehow but live it. Reading this post reminded me of this article I read just a reverse application bottom line is possibly internal homophobia or some other thing (http://lesbianlife.about.com/od/lesbiandating/fl/Can-a-Stud-Date-a-Stud.htm?nl=1). By the way I am a heterosexual or heteroflexible male that is an ally, especially to lesbians or bisexuals. Keep blogging and keep being you !

Leave a Reply

